HomeNewsTour de France 2023: Belgium's Jasper Philipsen sprints to victory on stage...

Tour de France 2023: Belgium’s Jasper Philipsen sprints to victory on stage three

Jasper Philipsen
Jasper Philipsen has now won three stages of the Tour de France in his career

Belgium’s Jasper Philipsen sprinted to victory on stage three of the Tour de France as Britain’s Adam Yates retained the leader’s yellow jersey.

Philipsen, 25, edged out Germany’s Phil Bauhaus with Australia’s Caleb Ewan in third in the first sprint finish of this year’s Tour.

Britain’s Mark Cavendish was in sixth as the race crossed from Spain to the finish at Bayonne in France.

Yates now leads team-mate Tadej Pogacar and his brother Simon by six seconds.

Stage three results

1. Jasper Philipsen (Bel/Alpecin-Deceuninck) 4hrs 43mins 15secs

2. Phil Bauhaus (Ger/Bahrain-Victorious) same time

3. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto Dstny)

4. Fabio Jakobsen (Ned/Soudal-Quick Step)

5. Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo-Visma)

6. Mark Cavendish (GB/Astana Qazaqstan)

7. Jordi Meeus (Bel/Bora-hansgrohe)

8. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned/Jayco AlUla)

9. Mads Pedersen (Den/Lidl-Trek)

10. Bryan Coquard (Fra/Cofidis)

General classification after stage three

1. Adam Yates (GB/UAE Team Emirates) 13hrs 52mins 33secs

2. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) +6secs

3. Simon Yates (GB/Team Jayco-AlUla)same time

4. Victor Lafay (Fra/Cofidis) +12secs

5. Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo-Visma) +16secs

6. Jonas Vingegaard (Den/Jumbo-Visma) +17secs

7. Michael Woods (Can/Israel-Premier Tech) +22secs

8. Jai Hindley (Aus/Bora-Hansgrohe) same time

9. Carlos Rodriguez Cano (Spa/Ineos Grenadiers)

10. Mattias Skjelmose (Den/Lidl-Trek)

More to follow.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments